Posted by: recordingsofnature | May 15, 2016

Dawn in Sømosen, May 13th 2016

This is an audio field recording of dawn in Sømosen (Friday 13.5.2016), the bog just outside Copenhagen where I have been recording a few times before. I am curious to know more about the night sounds of this wetland through the seasons. My last night recording was in February. Now, spring is well advanced, and the activity level much higher.

View from the recorder over Sømosen at 4:45 am, 13.5.2016. Click for larger version.

View from the recorder over Sømosen at 4:45 am, 13.5.2016. Click for larger version.

It was a night with a clear sky, no wind and 8C. Mist was developing over the water making the scene very picturesque in the morning.

I didn’t manage to do a full night recording, so the recording starts 3 am and ends at 4:45 am when the morning chorus had calmed a bit down. Listen in headphones.

The recording starts with me walking the last meters and placing the recording gear near the water. In the beginning, at 3 am, the only singing bird is a distant nightingale, but shortly with the first light, the colony of black headed gulls wakes up. Steadily, the sound level builds up with greylag goose, lapwing, cuckoo, redstart, wren, black bird, joining in. (Im still missing the balck cap, which was very active at this time last year)

Despite good audio recording conditions, I don’t think the recording turned out to be very sparkling. In the first half, the soundscape is mostly medium and far distance sounds from birds over the wetland, but (again) I experienced some persistent deep bass rumbling. This time, it appeared not to be from traffic, but humming from some fan or building ventilator. Though, I think the problem is also highly due to my recording setup being too sensitive to low frequency bass.

I placed the setup by the water partly covered under a bush to make it less noticeable, even though the area completely deserted at these hours.

Recorder can be seen to the left. I placed the setup partly covered under a bush to make it less noticeable, even though the area is completely deserted at these hours.

 

View over the bog from the parking lot. As the light came on, I started to see the mist. At first, in my sleepy thoughts, I was worried that it was smoke from my equipment that had caught fire.

View over the bog from the parking lot. As the light came on, I started to notice the mist. At first, in my sleepy thoughts, I was worried that it was smoke from my equipment that had caught fire.

Responses

  1. Thanks a lot.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

